Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   Concealed Carrying & Personal Protection (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f17/)
-   -   Non-resident chl (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f17/non-resident-chl-39929/)

Bootsdeal 03-17-2011 09:09 PM

Non-resident chl

I'm a Texan, with a Texas Driver's License, but with a Utah non-resident CHL, which is valid in 33 states including Texas. My question is to other Texans with this same CHL from Utah -- do you present it to LEO's if stopped for a minor traffic violation? Also, do you know if Texas LEO's have the data to know if you have a Utah CHL, as they do if you have a Texas CHL.

NGIB 03-17-2011 11:27 PM

Do you also have a Texas permit? As a TX resident, I don't think you can legally carry in TX on a non-resident permit - you must also have a TX permit. The purpose of an additional non-resident permit is to allow you to carry in states where you are not a resident and where your home state permit is not recognized - additional reciprocity. Robocop10mm is a Texas LEO and he may drop in to answer this one...

Bootsdeal 03-18-2011 12:14 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by NGIB (Post 466969)
Do you also have a Texas permit? As a TX resident, I don't think you can legally carry in TX on a non-resident permit - you must also have a TX permit. The purpose of an additional non-resident permit is to allow you to carry in states where you are not a resident and where your home state permit is not recognized - additional reciprocity. Robocop10mm is a Texas LEO and he may drop in to answer this one...