Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   Concealed Carrying & Personal Protection (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f17/)
-   -   New job; can't carry :-( (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f17/new-job-cant-carry-77319/)

cnorman18 11-28-2012 10:22 PM

New job; can't carry :-(

Starting a new job in January; substitute teaching, hoping to get on as a regular teacher in the spring or fall. That's good -- I was a teacher for 20+ years, 10 years ago -- but I won't be able to carry. Federal felony, all that. Carrying anyway is out of the question -- they sweep the buildings & parkng lots regularly with sniffer dogs, and they'll alert on ammo as well as drugs.
Suggestions?

racer_x 11-28-2012 11:05 PM

what about a knife? just a thought or like a flap jack, monkey fist or a tactical pen :rolleyes:

not trying to make a joke or anything but i think your gana have to rely on the guards you have at the school, not that thats much good either. we have city cops that stay at the schools armed an all but they cant be everywhere all the time.

edit: back in my day we had no problem closing a fist and fightin that time is long gone im afraid

Doc3402 11-28-2012 11:10 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by cnorman18 (Post 1031069)
Starting a new job in January; substitute teaching, hoping to get on as a regular teacher in the spring or fall. That's good -- I was a teacher for 20+ years, 10 years ago -- but I won't be able to carry. Federal felony, all that. Carrying anyway is out of the question -- they sweep the buildings & parkng lots regularly with sniffer dogs, and they'll alert on ammo as well as drugs.
Suggestions?

Number one, you don't mention what grades you'll be teaching, but if it's middle school you don't want the temptation that readily available anyway. Those kids could tick off the pope. Second, check your local statutes about non-firearm defense weapons on school property.