My new CCW weapon
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > Concealed Carrying & Personal Protection > My new CCW weapon

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-29-2012, 11:53 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 25 Times on 20 Posts

Default My new CCW weapon

Just picked up a brand new Ruger SR40C, all black, for $419. Now I've been a revolver guy for most of my life, but I just had to try one of the new (to me) polymer, striker fired, autos. I've been doing my homework for 3 months, checking out just about every make, model and caliber you can think of. There really is a plethora of really excellent choices. So it just boils down to personal preference. Don't bother to ask someone what you should get. What works for them may not work for you. Before you buy anything, go to youtube and do a search on any gun you're interested, be it auto or revolver. You'll find tons of video reviews on just about any gun you can imagine. But I'll warn you that watching all the gun videos can become addictive. It was/is for me. If you can, rent the gun your interested in before buying it. I shoot my 44Mag and 357Mag pretty regularly, so recoil doesn't bother me. The SR40C felt just right in my hand, and the price was unbelievable. Put one box of store-bought ammo through it without a glitch. Recoil feels less than a 38 special, and quick/accurate follow-up shots were no problem at 21 feet. It was dead on, but has adjustable sights so I can play with different loads. If you're recoil conscious, there's load data that turns the 40 S&W in to a 9MM. The SR40C isn't a target pistol, but it shoots nice groups at 50 feet in slow fire. Trigger is really nice. Removed the magazine disconnect (took just 5 minutes). It comes with a 9 and 15 round mag in my state (Wisconsin). 2 or 3 rounds is all it should take if, God forbid, I ever have to drop the hammer in self defense. But if it turns into a fire fight, that extra capacity will come in handy. I practice a lot at 50 and