How hard was it to get your CWL? - Page 3
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > Concealed Carrying & Personal Protection > How hard was it to get your CWL?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-07-2009, 03:15 AM   #21
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

I have Washington State and Nevada.

Wa....$60, fingerprints and it was home in a week.
Nv.....$100, 8hr class ( half for me since I was a range officer @ the store). It took them 2 months and 2 weeks to get my license. 3 hrs at the sherriff department just to pay and fingerprint. All good for 5 yrs.

Old 11-07-2009, 07:50 PM   #22

Liked 41 Times on 25 Posts
Likes Given: 237

Here in Oregon I took a three hour class from a former Desert Storm/Blackwater vet (very good instructor for incite as to shooting situations). Shot two six round loaded mags to make sure we knew how to handle a firearm, NRA firearms class probably should be a requirement because too many newbe's were putting their finger on their triggers ( to which the instructor got rather upset). To the county sheriffs office for FBI fingerprints and photo. That was $65 plus $15 for an extra set of fingerprints to sent to Utah. Utah needed passport pick as well as fingerprints and proof of CCW class and instructor info, cost $65.25. Got Oregon CCW in two weeks and Utah CCW took two months and a week. Combined, CCW's cover around 40 states however Nevada dropped Utah due to lack of shooting training. We were told to always check with state CCW laws before going there due to frequent changes in laws. My wife and I don't go into California any more than the Redwood forests just across the border because they have become pretty much a third world country, even less so due to the fact they don't honor out of state CCW licenses. Just press "1" for english. The nice thing about Nevada is that OC is pretty common, at least in the Northern two thirds, Las Vegas area might be far less tolerant.

Last edited by Viking; 11-07-2009 at 07:54 PM.