Guns with Nickel
You are Unregistered, please register to use all of the features of FirearmsTalk.com!    
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > Concealed Carrying & Personal Protection >

Guns with Nickel

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-16-2012, 09:26 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default Guns with Nickel

Hello, I am somewhat new to handguns.
I have been renting several type at the range. I found one I like and just looked and read that it is nickel and not Stainless Steel. Is nickel ok? Is it easy or hard to take care of? How do you clean nickel?

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 02-16-2012, 10:34 PM   #2

Quote:
Originally Posted by dslmac2
Hello, I am somewhat new to handguns.
I have been renting several type at the range. I found one I like and just looked and read that it is nickel and not Stainless Steel. Is nickel ok? Is it easy or hard to take care of? How do you clean nickel?
Nobody has anything to say about a nickel slide? This is the second forum I have ask a serious question about it and nobody touches this question. Must be not-so-good huh?

Old 02-16-2012, 11:48 PM   #3
Administrator
FTF_ADMIN.png

Liked 12825 Times on 5482 Posts
Likes Given: 2097

(Burp) Sorry, was wading thru some BBQ, beans and tater salad-

Nickel was sort of the original rust resistant finish. Started catching on about 1880 or so, and continued up to introduction of stainless, when it started going away.