Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > Concealed Carrying & Personal Protection > Defending myself.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-08-2012, 05:16 PM   #51
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts

Maybe a bit if a silly question, but I'm serious nonetheless: how well would standing up for my dog hold in court? He sleeps in the living room which would be the first place the BG enters. Or would it still be better, in a legal situation, to only defend the humans in the household.

Old 12-08-2012, 05:26 PM   #52
FTF_SUPPORTER.png

Liked 2579 Times on 1291 Posts
Likes Given: 246

Quote:
Originally Posted by ragecage23 View Post
Maybe a bit if a silly question, but I'm serious nonetheless: how well would standing up for my dog hold in court? He sleeps in the living room which would be the first place the BG enters. Or would it still be better, in a legal situation, to only defend the humans in the household.
As I understand things (I'm not a lawyer, and I haven't stayed in a Holiday Inn Express lately either), dogs are property in the eyes of the law. Some states/locales are more tolerant of defending property than others. As in so much of life, much depends on where your standing. IMHO (again, not a lawyer), if you are in your house/dwelling, it's a moot point. You are defending yourself & your family from an intruder in your house/dwelling. The dog is pretty much a legal non-issue at this point. To put it plainly, most states will see shooting an intruder in your house as justified (barring any weirdness, e.g. Some guy who you happen to owe money to, a couple of teenagers done execution style*, or a guy you caught with your wife or other issues that would call motive into question.) If you are NOT in your house/dwelling, things become less clear cut very quickly.

* don't be this guy: http://kstp.com/news/stories/S2845903.shtml?cat=1
NRA Life Member