Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > Concealed Carrying & Personal Protection > church & guns

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-08-2014, 02:57 AM   #301
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 274 Times on 148 Posts
Likes Given: 80

Quote:
Oh, in case you are wondering... I LOVE my job, I LOVE my church, and I LOVE the community in which we minister. God is amazing!! And despite all that above, there are so many more wonderful things about being here... I wouldn't change it for the world (except of course the crime and social degradation).
Good stuff. I like this:
Quote:
Praise be to the Lord my Rock,
who trains my hands for war,
my fingers for battle.
I pray I will never need to use a gun, but if I do...
Old 05-08-2014, 07:41 AM   #302
Devil's Advocate and Provocateur
FTF_MODERATOR.png

Liked 1274 Times on 668 Posts
Likes Given: 592

Quote:
Originally Posted by Staidan View Post
I'm a pastor of an urban, multinational church in Houston. I have seen at our church just this past year...

* Several homeless folks verbally abusive toward our staff.
* A gang member seeking refuge from his gang and running from law enforcement.
* Several mentally/emotionally unstable individuals asking for spiritual counsel.
* A con artist who may have been packing heat at events (holding small purse tightly under arm). She threatened some of our leaders and even said she would sue the church unless we paid her a certain amount (idiot!).
* The Denny's across the street was robbed by armed men (several employees were pistol-whipped).
* Shots fired on the street next to church parking lot while scouts were meeting outside.
* Our next door neighbor was an international drug dealer; we didn't let our kids play outside for two years. He was finally busted by joint DEA/FBI, now serving 30 to life. But one night he had a shoot out with thugs who pursued him into his home. And we regularly had mysterious cars pulling up outside our house at all hours.