Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   Concealed Carrying & Personal Protection (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f17/)
-   -   CC in a satchel bag (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f17/cc-satchel-bag-80964/)

arober1990 01-11-2013 02:36 AM

CC in a satchel bag

I am a graduate student working at a university. I have a CC permit and am in the process of purchasing a carry weapon. Despite a large frame my XD 9mm wont conceal well. Looking at a Ruger LCP or guns of the same frame. Given my current situation, meeting with students throughout the day, I am unable to wear the weapon on body. I have contemplated a pocket holster, but my khakis are a bit tight and it will print for sure. Maybe a back pocket holster, but I might still be nervous sitting on it all day in my office. I absolutely CANNOT print. I want to try a dedicated holster inside the flap of my bag. Not the big one on front that would be awkward as hell getting to in a time of need, but the one that rests against my left side, so I can slip my right hand in perfectly grabbing the gun. It would be very similar to a shoulder holster, only maybe six inches lower. The gun would be situated like cross-drawing from the hip like cops in the old days before they carried on their strong side. Is this setup a major issue? I am not concerned with speed as I feel confident after practicing with my XD (just too large).

Bear304inc 01-11-2013 05:00 AM

I see nothing wrong with it under a few conditions,
1. You can access your weapon in a hurry if needed.
2. You maintain control over your murse at all times,,, uh,, I mean satchel,, satchel.( hell Indiana Jones carried one right?)
Last thing you want is someone stumbling upon your weapon. Securing it safely when not carrying it.
Others here may come up with some more but those two should be at the top of the list.

HOSSFLY 01-11-2013 12:40 PM