Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > Concealed Carrying & Personal Protection > carrying while driving

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-07-2012, 10:17 PM   #31
Proud to be an American
FTF_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 793 Times on 366 Posts
Likes Given: 373

Quote:
Originally Posted by JimRau View Post
Take it from a retired LEO with 30+ years of experience and use some common sense!
1. DO NOT start 'messing around' after the lights come on. In other words do not try and place you PPD in the glove box or remove it from your person. This activity is considered to be VERY suspicious to the officer!!!
2. Keep your hands (both hands) on the wheel and simply tell the officer you are legally carrying a fire arm. Your exact words are up to you, but what I say is "I am a retired police officer and I am armed". It doesn't matter if this is a 'legal' requirement or not, it is just common sense!!!
3. Follow the officers instructions and cooperate completely.
4. If the officer/s acts inappropriately do not escalate the situation. If you have a 'problem' with the officer do not try and settle it there, make a complaint to his agency/supervisor and/or (if your right were violated) contact an attorney.
Hope this helped,
Jim
Rights violated? How about getting hurt or killed for your effort?
I hand you my drivers license its yes Sir/no Sir and not one other word! As I have stated here before I work daily with LEOs and most of them have advised me not to mention it. This link is one example of what can go wrong and there are many more http://www.theblaze.com/stories/you-fu-with-me-cop-threatens-concealed-carry-gun-owner-during-traffic-stop/

The price of freedom is eternal vigilance.

25-5 Likes This 
Old 12-08-2012, 12:45 AM   #32
FTF_SUPPORTER.png

Liked 1818 Times on 1066 Posts
Likes Given: 876

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pasquanel View Post
Rights violated? How about getting hurt or killed for your effort?