Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > Concealed Carrying & Personal Protection > Is carrying concealed extra mags worth it?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-17-2012, 05:09 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts

Default Is carrying concealed extra mags worth it?

I'm new to concealed carrying and wanted to know if having the extra mags is worth carrying?

I have grown up around guns and a great shot. I understand in a draw and shoot situation that ammo goes faster than expected but is an extra mag really going to help at that moment? I'm going to carry a glock 19 gen 4 which is 15+1. My thought on it is if I need more than that then this situation is how many am I taking with me. I understand the principle of "well u might need it," but in that case I should just carry my AR around.

Is it necessary or just preference?

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 11-17-2012, 05:40 AM   #2
Lifetime Supporting Member
FTF_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews

Liked 7666 Times on 4424 Posts
Likes Given: 9884

somewhere along the line I have read that the average number of shots fired in a shootout not involving law enforcement is 3 shots. Not sure if that is a grand total of shots fired bay all shooters or what. 16 should be plenty IMO, just practice practice practice your marksmanship. Then again I live in CA and can't get a CCW because of the politics.

Old 11-17-2012, 06:47 AM   #3

Liked 2141 Times on 969 Posts
Likes Given: 2083

Every now and then Vikingdad and I agree on something.

Old 11-17-2012, 08:40 AM   #4

Liked 23 Times on 17 Posts