Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > Concealed Carrying & Personal Protection > Advice for this soon-to-be new handgun owner

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-30-2013, 02:47 AM   #11
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 991 Times on 499 Posts
Likes Given: 2547

Quote:
Originally Posted by new2ruger View Post
What exactly is the difference between a pocket and compact? Size? Caliber? Both? Geez am I coming off like a total newb here? ^_^;
Ther'es nothing wrong w/ being a newbie. Being a newbie does not = being an idiot. Being an idiot is being a newbie who thinks they know it all and never asks for help or advice

I still consider myself a newbie - but i'll help out where I can

Basically the way I understand it, a "pocket pistol" is a sub compact firearm

So you're looking at compact vs sub compact.

So this (sub compact)

or this (compact)

As far as I know the main differences will be rounds carried. I think either one could go up to something like a .40 S&W but I believe most sub compacts are 380

Personally, I'd prefer something a little larger than a sub compact. But thats just my preference

I'm sure there are much more knowledgeable members here who could elaborate further, or even show me where I'm wrong

But thats my general understanding.

Old 01-30-2013, 02:58 AM   #12

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

So the Ruger I'm looking at would be considered a pocket gun then? That would make sense. I'm looking for something that I can easily conceal that will still have decent stopping power. My uncle has a few handguns that I've tried and one was a little derringer, and though its VERY easily concealed, I didn't feel like it would really do me much good =\ I know I could get something with a bit more punch than the .380 but I do want to try and stay in the pocket or compact range. I'm going to call that gun range tomorrow and see what they have that I can try.

Old 01-30-2013, 03:15 AM   #13
FTF_SUPPORTER.png

Liked 397 Times on 242 Posts