Advice for this soon-to-be new handgun owner
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > Concealed Carrying & Personal Protection > Advice for this soon-to-be new handgun owner

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-30-2013, 12:59 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default Advice for this soon-to-be new handgun owner

Hey guys. I'm looking at buying a gun for personal protection that I will carry concealed (once I get the proper license, of course).

I'm seriously looking at a Ruger LCP. I checked one out at a local store and the weight and grip were very comfortable in my hands. I'm told it's important to get a gun that "feels right" but I have no experience with handguns so I really don't know how to go about choosing a gun.

So am I on the right track or is there something else I should do before purchasing this gun?

I've only fired rifles so this will be my first handgun. I have already talked to a friend who is a retired LEO about gun training and going over applicable laws and such.

Is there anything else I need to do? Also, anyone want to rec a good holster? I'm looking at the SmartCarry because undetected concealment is really important to me. I plan to carry this with me wherever legally possible and don't want to freak anyone out.

Thanks

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 01-30-2013, 01:16 AM   #2
FTF_SUPPORTER.png

Liked 1176 Times on 655 Posts
Likes Given: 481