Which .45 for Concealed Carry? - Page 2
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > Concealed Carrying & Personal Protection > Which .45 for Concealed Carry?

Closed Thread

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-14-2009, 12:45 AM   #11
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

The Glock 36 is a very good cc weapon....I have been carrying it for 12 years...It conceals very nice...When I was in the Army I carried a 1911 for 5 yrs as my sidearm......but for self defense I still like the glock.. it is ready to rock and roll without having to remember to take it off safety.....I do have a great love for the 1911...but how many of you have had to deploy it in the real world.....every second counts and every move counts or it may be you that goes down..... There are many of you that may not like what I just stated but when the balloon goes up it is to late...... Military Term.....

You already are familiar with the workings of the glock....you already have what is called muscle memory for the deployment of that weapon...why retrain for a different weapon? You have a big choice to make.... all the pistols that were mentioned are outstanding.... but just remember, train with what you will defend your life with....

Okay off the soupbox...

Tom

Old 07-14-2009, 12:50 AM   #12

Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by feedsasquatch View Post
I think I need to get my hands on a Kimber Ultra Carry II, Kimber Compact II, and a Para PXT LDA single-stack. Once I've fired them at a gun range I'll have a better feel for what I'm looking for.

Is Taurus a good brand? Do they make a concealed 1911?

Man, these things are not cheap, my budget for a carry gun was about $600 (and I didn't want to go over $800). I guess I'll be waiting till Christmas...
The price tag is probably the 1911's main drawback. Especially if you start adding accesories and changing parts (which you will). I still feel that it's a great design and that every pistol lover should own one.