Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > General Firearms Forums > Firearms in the Media > NRA Press conference

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-23-2012, 03:21 AM   #11
FTF_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 297 Times on 174 Posts
Likes Given: 58

To your original point, I am a teacher and my wife is a guidance counselor at two different schools. We were just discussing this evening about allowing teachers to carry in schools. I stated that I would be in favor of it but much with some of the standards that you listed. I would want to see it as voluntary with district provided training in practical shooting applications. The other thing that would be needed is some sort of annual stipend and an equipment allowance. Complete confidentiality would be required so that only select administration members be the only people to know who is carrying in the school.

My wife is in favor of this idea as well. She would not want to carry a gun as she i not interested in firearms and is not real comfortable handling them. She goes shooting occasionally but is not avid about it.

My school has an armed police officer on the grounds but her school is a rural school and I would imagine that the response time would be in the 10+ minute range. It was before my time but the way I've been told is that for several years the local police force offered to station an officer at the school but the school board didn't want to allow the officer to carry a gun. The police force flatly denied disarming one of its officers. The school board finally relented and there has been an armed officer ever since.

Old 12-23-2012, 03:42 AM   #12

Liked 19 Times on 14 Posts
Likes Given: 6

Larry Pratt from the GOA is a much better representative for the cause than LaPierre has ever been.

The GOA gets my $, the NRA does not (I know this isn't a popular position).