Why does stainless steel have pitting? - Page 2
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Gunsmithing & Do-It-Yourself Projects > Cleaning and Maintenance > Why does stainless steel have pitting?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-23-2013, 06:29 PM   #11
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 195 Times on 127 Posts
Likes Given: 63

Stainless steel that is very good at resisting rust is a "300 series" alloy and it is not heat-treatable. So it is not usually strong enough for making a gun. It is non-magnetic; a magnet will not stick to it. The alloys that are suitable for making guns are the "400 series" alloys. They are heat-treatable, magnetic and not all that corrosion resistant. I got into this business of stainless steels when I was an engineer for a marine products company. Some stainless steels fall apart when exposed to sea water (oops!).

Old 02-23-2013, 10:14 PM   #12

Liked 177 Times on 132 Posts
Likes Given: 44

Want to know whats funny,Here in Michigan where it's almost 100% humidity most of the year,my guns don't rust,but when my buddy from Colorado travels here with his guns,they start to rust quickly,even with the same model gun as I have,as if the metal is not used to the humidity.It's mind boggling how this can happen.

S&W 915 9mm
Mossberg 500 Mariner 12ga
1945 Win 94
Ruger MKIII 22/45 4"
Savage MK II
Ruger SP101 .357
Kung-Fu Moves

Old 02-27-2013, 01:17 AM   #13

Liked 2500 Times on 1626 Posts

Believe it or not, steel is porous like wood. It even has a grain. Keeping steel well oiled will help keep the pores filled with oil, making it more rustproof.

Bead blasting, I believe, pushes the pores shut with the surrounding steel, making it more rustproof.

Feral cat waterboarder

Old 03-16-2013, 06:38 AM   #14

Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by primer1 View Post
Believe it or not, steel is porous like wood. It even has a grain. Keeping steel well oiled will help keep the pores filled with oil, making it more rustproof.