What is good for getting the lead out?

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Gunsmithing & Do-It-Yourself Projects > Cleaning and Maintenance > What is good for getting the lead out?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-15-2013, 02:11 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 44 Times on 30 Posts
Likes Given: 22

Default What is good for getting the lead out?

I shoot only copper-jacketed bullets in my firearms because I have had some bad experiences with lead fouling. I haven't had any trouble getting the copper fouling out. Recently I shot some of my friend's .45acp loads through my Colt 1911. It has a stainless barrel. The bullets were Laser-Cast 200-grain semi wadcutters. The inside of the bore was okay but there was some bad lead fouling on the top of the chamber, where the bullets made contact when feeding into the chamber. I had a dickens of a time removing this fouling. I tried different solvents without much luck. I was able to remove a lot of it with hot soapy water and Soft Scrub. An old gunsmith suggested I try some 0000 steel wool to remove the rest. I always keep some 0000 steel wool around for woodworking so I gave it a try. I wrapped some of the steel wool around a wooden dowel, sprayed some kroil on it and careful spun it by hand in the chamber. This removed the rest of the lead fouling. When I was finished I had a very clean and shiny barrel and the materials and motions I used did not scratch it. Okay, I know I have said a lot, but here is my question. What would have made this job much easier and safe for the barrel?

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here