Please help asap: Rust on firearms
You are Unregistered, please register to use all of the features of FirearmsTalk.com!    
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Gunsmithing & Do-It-Yourself Projects > Cleaning and Maintenance > Please help asap: Rust on firearms

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-14-2013, 01:19 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 373 Times on 236 Posts
Likes Given: 160

Default Please help asap: Rust on firearms

Folks I need help ASAP. We have been staying with some friends for a few weeks. They have a humid basement and like an idiot I put my 870 and mosin nagant down there. Tonight I went to inspect them and there is rust build up on the outside of the guns. It is pretty bad. Now this is the first time this has ever happened. I am new to rust and guns but it doesn't look like any of the metal has been eaten. When I rub the rust off, it comes off in flakes which seems kind of weird. Like I said, it seems like there is a coating but no damage has been done yet. Both the 870 and mosin internals look fine from where the Hoppes oil has done it's job. What do I need to buy and what should I do? How much time do I have before my guns start pitting and the rust actually starts eating the metal. Again I am new to this as I have never had a basement before!!

Haven't got a lot, I don't need a lot. Coffee's only a dime. Living in the sunlight, Loving in the moonlight, Having a wonderful time!

I CAME, I SAW, I CONQUERED...

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 10-14-2013, 01:23 AM   #2

Liked 59 Times on 49 Posts
Likes Given: 78