Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Gunsmithing & Do-It-Yourself Projects > Cleaning and Maintenance > New to cleaning. Safest product & technique to remove factory packing grease?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-01-2013, 08:52 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default New to cleaning. Safest product & technique to remove factory packing grease?

Thank you in advance.

I have been searching and studying. My dad taught me to shoot, but never taught me how to clean. Heck I never even saw him clean a gun. He did not even teach me car stuff that was self taught.

I finally made the plunge and bought the guns I have been wanting for quite a while. After we got broke into it seemed it was no longer prudent to put off home protection. Especially when two 70# dogs and a monitored alarm did not dissuade the idiots. Then the cops sent my 70 year old mother, who is half crippled using a walker, before they even swept the outside, let alone the inside, to verify the crooks were gone. So there goes my faith in them to protect me. But I digress...

So I have purchased 2 Beretta 90-twos, a Beretta compact px4, a Beretta cx4 and a Walther p22. The spouse got a Glock 23 & Sig mosquito.

Mine

Spouse

After reading, I was just going to use brakleen non clorinated as I read a lot recommend, but all these guns have so much polymer plastic on them. The walther has a factory coated finish on the plastic body and one of the 90-twos has been fully duracoated. I was worried the plastic would be discolored or damaged by the brake cleaner. So I remembered someone said simple green, but I was not sure how well it would breakdown the grease and flush it out. So i figured i would be better with a cleaner/degreaser made for guns, so I also grabbed hoppes degreaser/cleaner and gun scrubber. I will return whatever I don't need. And if it will work I'm totally fine with the simple green.

Which would be the safest to use? I can get simple green if its the safest.*