Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Gunsmithing & Do-It-Yourself Projects > Cleaning and Maintenance > absolute beginner. cleaning older rifles

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-26-2012, 03:42 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default absolute beginner. cleaning older rifles

Hi,

From canada
I stopped in to ask for some advice. I have some old guns I want to fix up and clean. My dad passed years ago and we never sold his guns. They're just sitting there in a cabinet and I thought I'd fix up/clean them. I have no real experience outside some .22 shooting in scouts. We learnt gun safety but never how-to clean them. He had .22, 30/30 lever action and shotguns (one pump action) that I know off hand. They're now 20yrs old +/-..

I intend on searching, I admit the post is somewhat generalized.. But its important to me I don't damage them in the process. I saw the post about favorite/best supplies… I'm going to town tomorrow to see what's available locally, and if I might need to order online.

Any help, or advice to steer me in the right direction would be appreciated. I'd like to eventually shoot them. (yes - they are licensed, under my mother's name)

Thanks for stopping by
Geoff

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 08-26-2012, 04:04 PM   #2
Crazy Azz Redneck
FTF_SUPPORTER.png

Liked 1081 Times on 620 Posts
Likes Given: 507