Wheels & Semis
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > Revolver Handguns > Wheels & Semis

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-27-2011, 10:07 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default Wheels & Semis

Wheels vs. Semis

The purpose of this article is to help guide those new to handguns. As a firearm instructor I must be ready to answer the revolver vs. semi-auto (self-loader) question.
Before I get any hate mail, let me say that I like most handguns, both revolvers and self-loaders. There is something to be said for the comforting weight of the dense, quality steel found in many revolvers.
Revolvers are simple. For both single action and double action, just load the cylinders and shoot. No safeties or slide stops to confuse you in the dead of night. You don’t have to worry if the chamber is loaded when a narcotic addicted social problem breaks your home’s window and tries to climb through. Cleaning is generally a snap, with an small exception for those 10 shot .22 caliber models.
Revolver reliability is almost as good as the sun coming up. Many revolvers can fire several different types of rounds, the difference being how much gun powder they hold. (The .357 Magnum can also fire the .38 Special. The .38s generating less recoil for practice, and possibly less expensive.) Similar can be said of the .44 Magnum / 44 Smith & Wesson Special and the .32 Federal Magnum. If one wants to load their own ammo on the light side to save on recoil or budget, no problem, the revolver doesn’t need a certain amount of recoil to make it work. Bullet styles that cut precise round holes in paper such as ‘wad cutters’ will not induce feeding problems like they might in some self-loaders.