What's the best SAA repro? - Page 4
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > Revolver Handguns > What's the best SAA repro?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-26-2012, 03:40 AM   #31
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 499 Times on 298 Posts
Likes Given: 229

I've been collecting Colt SAA's for over 40 years. I believe the 2nd generations were the finest ever made. Sorry to say the 3rds, except for some exceptions, I would not own. Parts for example weren't interchangeable for the first time. Just like the US cars from the mid 70's on up their quality control was deplorable, which is pitiful for such a fine company.

In the early 70's Colt came out with a line of percussions. They were beautiful and I even bought a '51 Navy that was cased with all accessories. I eventually traded it for a Colt Thunderer. Those guns were considered originals, but modern and even starting off their serial #'s where they had left off in the 1800's. Those were manufactured by Uberti and finished off here by Colt. All their models were excellent. Forgeries to make them look antique fooled many people.