Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   Revolver Handguns (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f16/)
-   -   What am i doing wrong? (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f16/what-am-i-doing-wrong-63408/)

elglockeroloko30 04-28-2012 01:25 AM

What am i doing wrong?

1 Attachment(s)
So i started shooting only 7 months ago. My first guns (bought them just a week apart) were a .45 semi auto and a 2 inch barrel .357, the Taurus 617. At first i was way better with the revolver. Then, when i got my carry permit started carrying more and more, hence practicing more and more with a compact .40 semi auto, to a point that i stoped taking the revolver to the range. So when i decided to finally take it out of the box and shoot it i foud out that i need to aim like an inch lower than where i want to hit. This does not happen with my other revolvers including another .357 with a 6 inch barrel and a .38 with also a 2 inch barrel. So i wonder if im doing something wrong or it is normal with the 617 model(BTW it has fixed sights). Any advice woud be greatly appreciated!

Rick1967 04-28-2012 01:42 AM

It is not uncommon for a gun to have sights that are a little off. If you are hitting right on with the other revolvers, I would bet it is the gun.

HOSSFLY 04-28-2012 01:44 AM

You're not doing anything wrong-
Its called POA or POI - Different with any gun (OK, many are close but still different) -
Just get used to the POA or POI of each gun or learn to file or change sights :cool:

elglockeroloko30 04-28-2012 01:56 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by HOSSFLY
You're not doing anything wrong-
Its called POA or POI - Different with any gun (OK, many are close but still different) -
Just get used to the POA or POI of each gun or learn to file or change sights :cool:

And what does it mean? (POA and POI)

HOSSFLY 04-28-2012 02:01 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by elglockeroloko30 (Post 784031)