Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > Revolver Handguns > Used Revolver inspection question

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-17-2011, 03:19 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default Used Revolver inspection question

Hi all,
I am in the market for a GP100 and I thought I would check out a local gun show this weekend just to see if I can come across one, or a similar .357, in a really good used condition at a better price than new. I'm in no immediate hurry and will buy new if I don't find anything that knocks my socks off, but thought it would be worth a try since it's a local show.

Can anyone please help offer some of the things that I need to check on a used revolver to make sure it's in good shape? Is there a good way to quickly check the cylinder to make sure it's in good shape? How about checking the timing, etc? I admit I'm a bit new to revolvers, and I know the GP100, if I can find one, is about as rock-solid as they come, but I still would be a bit wary about buying a used gun without knowing a bit about what I'm looking for.

Any suggestions are appreciated. Thanks!

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 02-17-2011, 03:32 PM   #2

Liked 7 Times on 5 Posts

When it comes to revolvers I always check for cylinder play. Put the gun in battery (cock it) only after making sure its unloaded, And check for movement for and aft as well as side to side. A revolver in good shape should have very little movement. That's my two cents. Good luck.

The rest of the world gets it,why can't we?