Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > Revolver Handguns > Uberti vs Ruger SA 45LC

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-09-2013, 04:59 AM   #11
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by gunsmoke11
If you want the real thing then buy the real thing. John Wayne always used Colts except in one movie The Shootist. They were a pair of engraved Great Western revolvers that were a gift to him many years prior.

Rugers are fine guns and their strength is always remarked about. I've never owned one, cause I frankly wasn't comfortable with their action and they never felt like a Colt when shooting them. I've never worried about a transfer bar for safety. Carrying 5 instead of 6 is my safety and I've been handling them for over 40 years. Where Colts are concerned if you don't know what your doing you can certainly bust a spring, or damage a hammer notch. Speaking of notches the Colt has 4 that spell out C-O-L-T. The Ruger feels different in the hand and unless modified hasn't those 4 clicks that the Colt is known for. Gary Reeder does great work on Rugers.

The USFA revolvers are excellent and they're less pricey than the Colts and are made in the old Colt factory to exact specifications. In my opinion they're superior to the Colts that have been manufactured in recent years. But they aren't stronger than Rugers if that's important to you.

If money is tight there are the Italian copies than can be considered. Those spaghetti westerns of the 60's started a new industry and a company like Uberti deserves all the credit in the world for giving us all those pistol and rifle reproductions. They did what should've been done here. Even the 2nd generation BP revolver parts for the '51 Navy that Colt turned out in the early 70's were actually made by Uberti in Italy and put together and finished by Colt here.