Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > Revolver Handguns > Uberti

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-15-2012, 06:02 AM   #31
jyo
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 17 Times on 13 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Over the years, Ubertis varied quite a bit in quality and QC---the later production is miles ahead of their earlier guns. One word of advice---don't dry-fire them or you'll soon be paying a gunsmith to fit a new Colt made firing pin!
Enjoy your new toy.

Old 11-15-2012, 07:18 AM   #32

Liked 477 Times on 293 Posts
Likes Given: 228

I own only one Colt clone the Cimarron Bisley Flat Top Target 44-40. Uberti and Cimarron are one of the same and I couldn't be more pleased with it for 10 years. The finish and action are excellent and this one is a tack driver.

Old 11-16-2012, 12:50 AM   #33

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

I started shooting SASS in 2000 and the Italian imports had problems. The pawls, the bolt stop, the trigger stirrups were not tempered enough or the metal was incorrect. They were always wearing and/or breaking. The music wire trigger return/bolt springs were selling great. Replacement parts were annealed.

I owned a pair of Western Arms (EMF) that had the stirrups and pawls replaced. Once parts were replaced and polished they ran fine.

Beretta purhased Uberti around 2001-2002 and the quality after this period is much better.

Be aware that all(most) all distributors that sale the 1873 winchester repro (and others) are made by Uberti/Beretta. Chaparral makes them but you don't want them.

Armi San Marco and Pietta make reproductions. I have zero experience with them.

I started with Colts 3rd gen. Never had a problem with them. They were light hammered, light triggered, and very very smooth.