Speed Loaders and Hollow Points

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > Revolver Handguns > Speed Loaders and Hollow Points

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-16-2014, 10:29 PM   #1
Mommy, who lights the sun?
FTF_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 1949 Times on 1184 Posts
Likes Given: 2121

Default Speed Loaders and Hollow Points

I'm pretty new to revolver shooting. I've been trying my revolver in IDPA and barely (1-2 seconds) made Marksman in SSR. One of my problems is reloading with speed loaders.

I've practiced with snap caps and gotten down to maybe 2-3 seconds a lot of the time. But when I try to reload with live rounds it just doesn't work. A lot of the ammo I've gotten (both 38spl and 357) have some kind of hollow point or flat point bullets. The flat ends of the rounds don't catch well in the cylinder.

I want to try the Classifier in ESR, but my revolver is not modified for moon clips. So, I'm going to try it with speed loaders. My 357 ammo is JSP.

Does anyone have any suggestions about how to speed up the process when I'm using rounds other than FMJ?

Balota
"A well regulated Militia, being necessary to the security of a free State, the right of the people to keep and bear Arms, shall not be infringed." 2nd Amendment to the Constitution of the United States
Practice does NOT make perfect. Practice makes permanent. Only perfect practice makes perfect.

Check out 4th FTF Shoot & Hoot.http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f138/4th-ftf-shotgun-shoot-hoot-vanzant-mo-oct-4-5-2014-a-105142/

Last edited by Balota; 08-16-2014 at 10:34 PM.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.