S&w .357
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > Revolver Handguns > S&w .357

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-13-2010, 01:01 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default S&w .357

Does anyone have any personal experience with 4 and 6" .357 from Tarus, Rossi, etc. as well as an S&W that can give an honest comparisson? What I'm really curious to know is if the extra money is just because you're buying the name S&W or is the quality really that much better?

Also, what are the advantages of having a 4" compared to a 6" and vice versa? I've owned a 2" Tarus .38 for years and love it but I want to get a
.357 for more stopping power and home defense. How much difference does the barrel length make when it comes to kickback, accuracy, etc? I'm asking because as a law enforcement officer, I've only shot .40 semi autos for my entire career and know next to nothing about revolvers.

Thank you in advance.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 08-13-2010, 01:21 AM   #2
Retired
FTF_SUPPORTER.png

Liked 3098 Times on 1781 Posts
Likes Given: 1320

Welcome to the FTF, when you get a chance, stop by the "Introductions".
My experience has been that the 4" is more practical as a general usage handgun.
Now which one? Well, if it was me...
S&W would be number 1. Ruger, Colt (older model), Taurus (paying close attention to some quality control issues), Rossi (if that is all I could afford).
S&W revolvers have been around for a couple of years and more smiths can work on them than the other brands.
My list above is what I would consider in quality.