Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > Revolver Handguns > Ruger GP100

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-07-2011, 08:20 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default Ruger GP100

Hello,
I am new to handguns and new to this site. I am picking up a new Ruger GP 100 (stainless, 4 inch barrel) in 3 days (Gander Mtn.) and would like to know if there is a proper way to "break in" the gun? I know it will take a variety of 38 loads as well as the 357 ammo. Is the larger "stress" placed on the gun by the 357 ammo good for it? Does it make a difference? Use will include home security and occasional range. I've read this gun is a pretty good piece and hope there is not much recoil (with 38's - how about with the 357's?) as my wife will be scared of it. Also, best place to purchase ammo in Chicago area?
Thank You All In Advance,

john

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 02-07-2011, 08:39 PM   #2
FTF_SUPPORTER.png

Liked 83 Times on 54 Posts
Likes Given: 5

Welcome to the forum. Please stop by the introduction area and let everyone know you're here.

Your GP100 is a tank and will eat all the 357s you want to feed it. They are well built and will give you a lifetime of service. As far as a break in.....shoot it, shoot it again and shoot it some more. If this is your first handgun I think you made a great choice in weapon as well as caliber. The 4" barrel will help you learn to shoot with greater ease then a snub nose but is still quick to point and concealable if desired(I realize your in Chicago and I'm sorry).