I had this crazy idea... - Page 2

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > Revolver Handguns > I had this crazy idea...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-17-2013, 10:58 PM   #11
FTF_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 3728 Times on 2285 Posts
Likes Given: 1224

Quote:
Originally Posted by ninjatoth View Post
1.8" barrel then ported too? I am not an expert but I'd be willing to bet that the LCR in .38spl with a +p might just about match it's power with a lot less sound and recoil.
You could be right. My uncertainty is why I'm asking here if anyone has done it. Someone who has chrono'd it would be awesome.

Always have clean socks.

Old 08-18-2013, 01:51 AM   #12

Liked 28 Times on 17 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by JW357

I plan on shooting Magnum loads often. I suppose that'll help.

However if I ever, God forbid, have to use my gun in self defense, I want every edge.

So your advice to every competition shooter or hunter who wants to get mag-na-porting on his gun is to "man up?" Just because you're having a bad day, Chain, is no reason to be a d*ck.
Chain is a dick by default it appears. No worries.

Old 08-18-2013, 02:18 AM   #13
JTJ
FTF_SUPPORTER.png

Liked 2417 Times on 1309 Posts
Likes Given: 695

I had a ported 38 spl for cc and I got rid of it after I fired it on a darkened range. You can forget a fast second shot at night. I do not recommend any ported or muzzle brake equipped pistols for defense if there is any possibility of shooting it in low light. I have an SP101 2" that I load with 110 grain mags which mitigates the recoil somewhat. I usually carry 125 grain +P in my unported 38 spl snub.

Patron Member NRA
"I would not be an old man if I had not been an armed young man." JTJ
I was taught to respect my elders but they are getting harder to find.

jebsca Likes This 
Old 08-18-2013, 02:20 AM   #14
FTF_SUPPORTER.png

Liked 762 Times on 379 Posts
Likes Given: 786