Help ME!Snub Nose Accuracy
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > Revolver Handguns > Help ME!Snub Nose Accuracy

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-17-2009, 02:50 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 176 Times on 131 Posts
Likes Given: 44

Default Help ME!Snub Nose Accuracy

I am fairly new to shooting,so I threw up a cardboard target 25-30 yards away.Put in 6 125 grain blazer .38spls in my rossi 462 snub 2",and fired slow and in single action free handed.I was hoping to do better,but maybe my results are common free handed?I highlighted my hits,I feel lucky being so new to have all 6 on paper,but I feel like I could improve alot.I hope someone can read my bullet pattern signature and translate to me what I need to do better.

7162009_233034_0001.jpg   7162009_233034_0002.jpg   1st-person-view.jpg  

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 07-17-2009, 03:48 AM   #2

Hi,

Some of the problem is that a 2" barrel was never designed for the distances you were at. 2" and 3" barrel weapons are designed for up close and personal defense, typically 5 to 15 feet. They really weren't designed for distance shooting.
Since you say you are fairly new to shooting, I would start by moving your target much closer and see what your results are. Try 2 to 7 yards away, usually a good starting point for a weapon with such a short barrel. Practice at those distances and see how you progress. As you improve, try increasing the distance. Remember though the weapon you have has such a short barrel, it was never ment to group tightly at 25 to 30 yards.

Hope this helps.

Old 07-17-2009, 03:57 AM   #3