Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > Revolver Handguns > Curious experience with .357 Mag versus .38 Special

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-02-2008, 06:29 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default Curious experience with .357 Mag versus .38 Special

Now I'll admit first off that I am a newb, so I may just be a little off in my expectations, but I after a long weekend of shooting, I do have an interesting experience that I am curious about.

I obtained a Rossi 971 revolver (chambered for 357 magnum, 4" barrel) a few months back, and started off by firing 38 special +P rounds (125 grain Winchester white box stuff from Walmart). They kicked moderately, with a reasonable amount of muzzle blast/flash. I was a bit hesitant for a while to fire a 357 round; however, this past weekend I got a box of 110 grain 357 Winchesters just for kicks, and I was surprised that it had practically no recoil (certainly no muzzle flip). I suppose it was a bit louder (although I thought the 38 was already pretty darned loud), and there wasn't really any more flash IMO. So my question is: given that the 357 is supposed to be a far more powerful cartridge...what the heck???

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 12-02-2008, 07:52 PM   #2
FTF_MODERATOR.png

Liked 2262 Times on 1188 Posts
Likes Given: 155

Recoil is a product of bullet weight, muzzle velocity and to a lesser degree, powder weight. A light (110 gr.) fast .357 MAY not give any more felt recoil than a 125 gr. +p .38 spl.

Old 12-02-2008, 10:06 PM   #3

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts