Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   Revolver Handguns (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f16/)
-   -   Colt Python .357 (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f16/colt-python-357-a-24904/)

Tackleberry1 03-20-2010 03:11 PM

Colt Python .357

Need some advice from you revolver guru's. I'm looking to expand my handgun collection and yesterday I came accross a blued colt python .375 w/6" barrel. The gun looks to have the original colt wood stocks, and finish is 90%.
The SN has no Letter in front of the number and is in the 64000 range. My dealer tells me he took it in on trade from a kid who inherited it and swapped it for a auto...
Dealer also told me that being "pre letter" and in the 64000 range make it a mid to late 1960's production run. "I love tight old guns with a little wear".
No box or paperwork and the dealer is asking $695.00. The price seems fair to me but I'm new to revolvers and just don't know if I'm looking at a great deal, a fair deal, or what?:confused:

Any advice on the value of this purchase would be appreciated...

NGIB 03-20-2010 03:19 PM

They are probably the prettiest revolvers ever built. My Dad had 2 of them and I used to just admire them. Two things of note - Pythons are kind of "delicate" and finding a smith to work on them is difficult. I suspect most Pythons sit in display cases versus being shot for these reasons. Yeah, I'd probably grab it for that price...

canebrake 03-20-2010 03:23 PM

Bad choice! Would you buy the puppy and send it to me? I'm the only one that knows how to fix it.

On a serious note, you could, depending on the condition, flip this for $1,000 +.

I have been searching for a Python to complete my 'bucket list' and it sounds like you may have a real find.