Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   Revolver Handguns (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f16/)
-   -   Cleaning a revolver's barrel (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f16/cleaning-revolvers-barrel-40621/)

ransom63 04-01-2011 03:04 AM

Cleaning a revolver's barrel

I've owned a couple revolvers for a little while now & have never been satisfied with the cleaning job on my barrels, not being able to work straight from the breech end. Just how can a get a bore brush through without going from the end of the barrel? This sounds amateurish, but I could use some answers here!

winds-of-change 04-01-2011 03:27 AM

I'm interested to see the answers here, too.

I am new to guns and own a revolver. I have been cleaning it from the muzzle end with a bore brush then cleaning patches. I am sure to push the brush all the way through then back. But I am very nervous about ruining the rifling in the barrel of my gun.

CA357 04-01-2011 03:53 AM

A bronze or brass brush will not hurt your barrel. Avoid stainless steel brushes and you'll be fine. There really aren't any alternative ways to clean from the breech end that I'm aware of other than a bore snake.

JonM 04-01-2011 04:18 AM

its time consuming but i just send the rod down sans brush screw the brush on and pull. repeat as needed. but i only got one revolver i shoot very infrequently

winds-of-change 04-01-2011 04:34 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by CA357 (Post 476990)
A bronze or brass brush will not hurt your barrel. Avoid stainless steel brushes and you'll be fine. There really aren't any alternative ways to clean from the breech end that I'm aware of other than a bore snake.