Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > Revolver Handguns > Can anyone help?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-21-2010, 06:30 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default Can anyone help?

I've been using handguns for more than thirty years, and have owned, carried, and used more than my share of semi-autos, but with the exception of a Colt SAA and a Blackhawk .44 Magnum I used extensively way too many years ago, I have little experience with revolvers, and zero experience with anything double action.

Anyway, while out on the shooting range recently, someone let me fire twenty-four rounds through a S&M Model 686 loaded with .357 Magnum rounds. I couldn't believe the groups I fired at twenty-five yards. By the fourth group, I could cover all six rounds with the palm of my hand. This not only from an unfamiliar handgun, but form an unfamiliar type of handgun.

It was the ease of firing those groups that surprised me. I was firing offhand, and the sights just seemed to line up on their own, and were steady as a rock. I fell in love.

My middle son and my nephew, bless their hearts, saw how much I loved shooting the 686, and just yesterday surprised me with one.

My questions are these. While my old standby and longtime favorite handgun is a 70 Series Colt Gold Cup, I have a bad shoulder that's going to take at many months to heal, and the Colt jars the heck out of it. For whatever reason, the 686 doesn't.

As I said, I have no experience with double action revolvers. Is the 686 loaded with .357 magnum considered a good weapon for full-time carry? What about when loaded with .38 Special +P rounds?

I really am a novice when it comes to double action, and this is also my first experience with the .357 or .38 Special +P. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

And my right shoulder would be eternally grateful.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!