.357 - Page 3
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > Revolver Handguns > .357

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-21-2012, 02:22 AM   #21
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 25 Times on 20 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by ninjatoth View Post
If you are going to be getting a snub then I would really consider thinking about a .38+p snub instead of a .357,the advantage of that .357 round's knockdown power over a .38+p isn't all that superior in a revolver with a barrel under 4",plus .357 revolvers cost alot more.
I agree with you Ninjatoth. Just last week we bought my girlfriend a brand new Ruger LCR in 38 Special for $399. IMHO, a 38 Special is all ya really need for home defense. I can just about guarantee that I can get off 2 taps quicker with a 38 Special than most can with their 357 Mag. And both my hits will be center mass. I've proved it time and again. Don't rely on power. Skill is what counts. I've been shooting competitively for 45 years and have won my share of IPSC matches and bowling pin shoots. I wouldn't feel under-gunned with a 22 revolver for home defense. There is a place for the 357, but its power is not a substitute for skill.

I use to think like you Lucznik and wouldn't ever consider a 38 over a 357 for the very reasons you stated. But after shooting my girlfriends gun, I've changed my mind. The 38 is cheaper and lighter. A LOT lighter ! I have a Redhawk and GP100 but I'm seriously considering the LCR in 38 Special. It's light as a feather, reliable as dirt, has a silky smooth trigger pull, and accurate as all heck. I cut one ragged hole at 21 feet from a bench rest. When I put it in my front pocket, it quite literally disappears. I don't even know it's there.