Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > Semi-Auto Handguns > XD VS Glock 19

Closed Thread

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-13-2008, 10:45 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default XD VS Glock 19

I am really stuck on a 9mm XD after shooting my buddies, but I haven't shot a Glock 19 yet. I went to a local gun shop here and fell in love with the way the Glock 19's feel and size. I'm still a gun noob, so does anyone have some input they want to give me?

IMO the XD looks way better, but I think the Glock 19 is going to be the smarter choice.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 10-13-2008, 11:13 PM   #2

Liked 6 Times on 5 Posts

My personal opinion would be to go with the Glock 19. The Glock has a more proven track record. The XD has a grip safety, but in today's time, a grip safety is a little outdated IMHO. Grip safety originated back when mounted calvary was still on horses, and the grip safety helped keep the gun from firing if it was dropped and banging against the horse (most common calvary pistols had lanyards). It was known as the "dead man's safety". It kept the weapon from shooting the horse or rider unintentionally. Basically the grip safety is sometimes used as a gimmick these days by the firearms manufacturers.

The XD does shoot reliably, though. I am not a big fan, but if it feels very comfortable to you shooting, that may be an omen that the XD is the gun for you.

If you want to truthfully look at things though, the XD in reality is just a knock-off of the Glock (I'm gonna hurt some feelings around here with that sentence....lol).