Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   Semi-Auto Handguns (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f15/)
-   -   what to get? (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f15/what-get-49716/)

jonbizzy 10-12-2011 01:25 PM

what to get?

I've been debating for a while now on a few different handguns. I like the walther p99 or I also saw magnum research makes a 9 or .40 with the p99 frame that looks good also. That being said I also like the cz p07 duty, the steyr m40, or the Sig p250.
I'm new to the law enforcement field and am wanting to get a new weapon. I have multiple Glocks,a Xd, and a beretta px4 storm that would all be great duty weapons. I always liked to be kinda different and everyone on the force either carries a berretta, Springfield XD or a Glock. I'm wanting something different, reliable, and also something under 1 grand. Any thoughts?

RecklessRegard 10-12-2011 02:42 PM

Just to be different?? Okay....

I guess you could check out Sigs. P220, P226, P229, and P250 are all excellent duty models. Don't forget about S&W. Their more classic all metal pistols can be had for under $500 used, and the M&P are readily available new. Nothing against the other guns you've listed, just don't have experience with them.

But, LE handguns are not carried to be cool or different, an officer needs to know his/her firearm in and out. I carry a Glock on duty. I am more than proficient with it. It is ugly, but a majority of the departments around here carry Glocks due to their reliability, longevity, and simplicity. I am by no means preaching Glock, just making a point (substitute XD or S&W).

sweeper22 10-12-2011 03:55 PM

If want something a little different, maybe ditch the tupperwear and class it up with a metal framed Sig, CZ, Browning, or 1911.

The less common polymers that have impressed me are the H&K P30 and CZ SP-01 Phantom.

MrWray 10-12-2011 05:44 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by sweeper22