Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > Semi-Auto Handguns > Walther P1/P38

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-28-2011, 05:05 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 723 Times on 537 Posts
Likes Given: 692

Default Walther P1/P38

I bought a used P1 today at Cabelas, they sold 30 or so today for $350 a piece during their doorbuster sale. These were German military and police turn ins and came with two magazines. A few came with leather holsters for an extra $10 but I was #10 in line and those were gone by then. I've always wanted a P38 and the P1 is identical to post WWII P38s, which all have aluminum frames. Other than very few exceptions the WWII P38s are the only steel frame models.

Seems ok so far but I'm a newb with the P38. Everything seems to work and my initial and later inspections haven't turned up any glaring problems. I hope to shoot it next week. It's a clunky thing but I really like it so far!

No pictures yet but it's no beauty though in good mechanical condition. It's dated 10/76 and does not have the reinforcing hex pin of later production. Will try to get some pictures posted soon but have company in town so it's hard to find time.

The biggest issue with assembling an AR isn't so much getting the parts together right - it's getting the right parts together.
You'll remember the quality of a gun long after you forget how much you paid for it.

Last edited by Quentin; 08-29-2011 at 05:07 PM.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 08-29-2011, 05:03 PM   #2

Finally here are pictures of the new to me P1:

Walther P1 right

Walther P1 left