Very easy questions
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > Semi-Auto Handguns > Very easy questions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-08-2008, 03:28 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default Very easy questions

I'm very new to guns. I went hunting when I was younger, and have recently been to the range a few times with my dad's pistols. Now that I'm about to move out, I'd like to have the protection of a firearm in the house with me. So here are some questions..

1-I'm left handed, how hard is it to find ambidextrous pistols? Are some pistols manufactured to have the discharge on the left side of the gun (although the right-side discharge hasn't really been a problem with any other pistol I've shot).
2-I'm thinking of getting a 9mm, heard that it's fairly common as a home defense gun. Would it be worth it to upgrade to, say, a .45?
3-Barrel size...how much of a difference will an inch make on accuracy (at say, 25 yards).
4-If it becomes my CCW, should I stay away from certain sizes/calibers/etc.?

I've been looking at some of the subcompact glocks, and there are a few used prices that aren't too bad at my local firing range/gun store. Looks like most people either love or hate the glocks. Regardless, (thanks to the advice in other searched threads) I'll be spending countless hours at different gun shops getting a feel for what I like/what my hands like/what my wallet likes. I'd just like to know a bit more before I head into the shop.

Thanks

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 01-08-2008, 04:57 PM   #2

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts