SIG P226 slide-catch

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > Semi-Auto Handguns > SIG P226 slide-catch

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-22-2010, 05:14 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default SIG P226 slide-catch

It's my understanding that the slide lock is supposed to engage after the last cartridge is fired, signifying so. I've noticed that my P226 lately has done this sometimes and many times fails to do this. The slide lock does however work fine and if I manually shove the slide back when the mag is empty, it locks just fine.

My gun is still pretty new (I got it in June) and I'm also still pretty new to taking care of it. Is this maybe a lubrication issue? What could cause this? When I first got it, it locked back every time I fired the last round. Thank you.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 07-22-2010, 05:38 AM   #2

Liked 762 Times on 441 Posts
Likes Given: 457

Quote:
Originally Posted by NewGunz View Post
It's my understanding that the slide lock is supposed to engage after the last cartridge is fired, signifying so. I've noticed that my P226 lately has done this sometimes and many times fails to do this. The slide lock does however work fine and if I manually shove the slide back when the mag is empty, it locks just fine.

My gun is still pretty new (I got it in June) and I'm also still pretty new to taking care of it. Is this maybe a lubrication issue? What could cause this? When I first got it, it locked back every time I fired the last round. Thank you.