Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > Semi-Auto Handguns > Shooting Walther P1 (P38) - Need Help!

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-05-2011, 08:15 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default Shooting Walther P1 (P38) - Need Help!

I’m fairly new to shooting pistol. So far I shot about 500 rounds of 9mm Luger ammo and 1,500 rounds of 22 l.r.

I bought a military surplus post-war Walther P1 (same as P38) from AIM a few months ago and have shot about 150 rounds but could never get hang of the aiming, accuracy, or grouping. What’s the right aiming technique and SIGHT Picture for the P1?

First, my shots were consistently 3-4 inches (with target 8-10 yards away) lower than where I aimed at. Second, the grouping was large and not consistent at all.

FYI, I also shoot a HK P7 PSP with which I have excellent accuracy (2 inch group at 8-10 yards). Even better with my Browning Buckmark 22 l.r. So I would think my shooting technique is ok.

Is there anything wrong with my aiming or handling of the gun? Or, it’s the P1 itself. Some people said the front sight might not be the correct height. But my grouping should be consistent.

What can I do to improve the accuracy shooting the P1? Thanks.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 07-05-2011, 09:18 PM   #2

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts