Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > Semi-Auto Handguns > S&W sigma question

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-05-2010, 03:08 AM   #1
FTF_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 224 Times on 124 Posts
Likes Given: 452

Default S&W sigma question

okay so i have had a sigma in .40 for about 2 years now without any probloms our malfunctions, that being said it is a great pistol for the price, but i am kinda new to the striker firing design, so my question is if i load the pistol then chamber a round, what postion is the striker at? Is there any chance of a accidental discharge while in this configuration for a long time or when dropped? Thanks for any input.

"A free people ought not only to be armed and disciplined but they should have sufficient arms and ammunition to maintain a status of independence from any who might attempt to abuse them, which would include their own government."
--George Washington

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 03-05-2010, 03:28 AM   #2

Liked 109 Times on 46 Posts
Likes Given: 6

The Sigma has an internal safety which prevents the firing of the gun unless the trigger is pulled. Now after saying that, no one can guarantee that a weapon won't or can't have some type of problem develop out of the ordinary.

I know a lot of police dept's used that gun for a long time and some still do. I don't know of any dept that doesn't require the officer's weapon to be readily available to fire upon drawing from a holster. Meaning they carry with a round in the chamber. Just keep your finger off the trigger until you are ready to fire it.