Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   Semi-Auto Handguns (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f15/)
-   -   Ruger SR9 and Ammunition (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f15/ruger-sr9-ammunition-16014/)

themyst 07-22-2009 10:19 PM

Ruger SR9 and Ammunition

I have a Ruger SR9 (and I love, love, love it). I'm fairly new to the world of handguns and have some ammo questions. I was given a box of 'police rounds' when I first went to shoot at the range and they handled nicely. Then I bought some cheap 9mm lugers at Walmart and every time I shot the pistol, the casing would fly back and hit either my face or land on my chest & shoulder. ??? That really doesn't seem right. Does anyone know the cause of this? I'm assuming it is the quality of ammunition? :confused:

tookalisten 07-24-2009 09:33 PM

I recently got a SR9 and have less than 500 rounds in it. I have had none of the issues you describe; but have only shot PMC and Remington rounds.
I have read mixed reviews on the SR9; but I have had no issues with mine and really like it so far. The trigger does take some getting used to; but I am OK with that too. My wife tells me that I took some getting used to as well.

themyst 07-24-2009 09:59 PM

I figured it was the ammunition. I think I'll start a new thread on that in the future.

I love my SR9. I have no issues with it at all, except maybe that the slide is a bit difficult for me to pull back. DH says I just have to get used to it and that it will get easier. I've owned a revolver in the past, this is my first experience with a semi-auto.

I've put close to 1000 rounds through mine so far, with only one jam.

matt g 07-24-2009 10:12 PM

Chances are that you may be mildly limp wristing the pistol. The higher powered "police issue" rounds probably kept this from happening just by having a larger powder charge and possibly a heavier bullet.