Ruger LCP and .380 ammo
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > Semi-Auto Handguns > Ruger LCP and .380 ammo

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-04-2011, 12:33 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 4 Times on 2 Posts

Default Ruger LCP and .380 ammo

OK, I think I've decided to go with the Ruger LCP for my next gun, which will be my CCW, at least to start with. I just have a couple more question...

Is the LCP a simi-auto, in that once I rack it all I have to do is touch the trigger, or is it a stiff trigger double action?

About about .380 ammo...I have no experience with the caliber. I actually vowed to never own one, but I've decided that a pop-gun in my pocket always is better than a cannon left in the car. So I'm wondering what y'all would recommend. I want to buy bulk, and use the same thing at the range as I carry with, so the cheapest RELIABLE brand is what I'll be using (until I get my reloading stuff out of storage) but I'm wondering about penetration.

I think for feeding reliability and expansion I would go with SJHP, but I'm wondering about the low power round penetrating winter clothing. Would FMJ be better?

I hate the idea of using FMJ and just punching a little hole in a bad guy, but on the other hand I hate the idea of using a HP and having it clog up with winter coat before it gets to the bad guy.

What do you guys recommend? Also, any pros or cons about the LCP would be appreciated. Cabelas has LCP w/2 mags and holster for $349 right now, so I'm thinking I should jump on it.

ΜOΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
G.O.A. LIFETIME MEMBER!
Sole owner of Random Thought # 5,000

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.