Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   Semi-Auto Handguns (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f15/)
-   -   Newbie help please (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f15/newbie-help-please-48480/)

mlls300 09-19-2011 02:36 AM

Newbie help please

Really new to the handgun world. Have hunted most of my life but never grew up in a house with a handgun. Would like to purchase a handgun for home protection and looking into possible concealed carry. I know everyone probably has opinions, but I would really like to know a few great all around conceal carry firearms. Have been looking at Beretta's, Glocks, Sigs, to name a few. I think I want something like a .40 as I have heard it has alittle more stopping power than a 9 mm, but like I said I am new to this. I would really appreciate any thoughts or opinions as to a great carry gun that I can use for personal protection. Thanks so much in advance.

trip286 09-19-2011 02:51 AM

you opened up the floodgates... standby. I've just recently had Bersa suggested to me, after asking about the Walther PPK. But your about to get swamped.

MrWray 09-19-2011 02:57 AM

U r definately looking at some good guns so far, but certainly dont discredit the 9mm. The 9mm makes a great concealment gun,they r very pleasant "and cheaper" to shoot and they DO have enuf power to do their job. I can sit here and give u numerous handgun models tht i prefer but in the end its wat u like the best. I have a Glock 31 .357sig tht i also carried for many years as a deputy sheriff and i have a 1911A1 .45acp tht i bought a couple of months ago tht i now carry everyday. If ur able to go to a range where u can handle and shoot different models, thts a good way to make a quick decision of wat u want

mlls300 09-19-2011 03:12 AM