Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   Semi-Auto Handguns (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f15/)
-   -   need handgun advice. (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f15/need-handgun-advice-88811/)

silenceisgolden 04-14-2013 08:19 PM

need handgun advice.

Hey all, im new to the pistol world and am looking to purchase my own.im not entirely worried about price more reliabilty, accuracy,capacity along with a 45 caliber id like something that will put an opponent down.any advise would be appreciated.thx folks.

Jagermeister 04-14-2013 08:42 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by silenceisgolden (Post 1213835)
Hey all, im new to the pistol world and am looking to purchase my own.im not entirely worried about price more reliabilty, accuracy,capacity along with a 45 caliber id like something that will put an opponent down.any advise would be appreciated.thx folks.

Please search your topic on this site, it has been discussed before. More suggestions that way. Here are my suggestions.

1HK USP, USP tactical or HK 45
2Sig Sauer 1911
3Colt 1911, any model

In that order in my opinion. Of course you will get a million answers on this thread. You did not say if it is for carry or home or both, so I went with a full size pistol. Best thing is to try all models you are interested in before purchase. See which feels more comfortable and which is more accurate for you (if possible). Also take a course since you are new to pistols.

Many will say Glock 21, and I read minds, so please try it before purchase. Glocks are not for everyone. :D I have explained why in the past, but that is a whole other post.:eek:

readygirl 04-14-2013 08:44 PM

Sounds like you are looking for a double stack .45. I would look at the following

- FNP45
- HK USP45 - SINCE YOU SAID MONEY IS NO OBJECT...LOL
-XD45
-BLOCK 21
-PARA-ORD 14-IF YOU LIKE 1911s
Do you prefer striker, or hammer fired...?

Jagermeister 04-14-2013 08:46 PM