Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > Semi-Auto Handguns > Looking for a 9mm

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-26-2012, 09:15 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default Looking for a 9mm

Hi guys I am new to the forum I am looking for a 9mm pistol that is reliable, accurate, and good for home defense. I am still relatively new to firearms but have experience shooting .22s I have seen a couple pistols I liked but I am not a fan of the decocker safety. I realize no safety can be perfect but I would feel much more comfortable with a manual safety. I am thinking I have a budget of no more then $500 any thoughts or am I asking for to much ? Any help would be much appreciated thank you.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 04-26-2012, 09:24 AM   #2

Liked 16794 Times on 9735 Posts
Likes Given: 43825

my suggestion would be to start going to gun stores and start by looking and holding different ones until you find one that fits your hand well. this will be the biggest factor as how well the pistol fits your hand will play a big part in how well you shoot accurately with it. next step, if you find one that exceeds your budget, then look around for one like it used if possible. another option would be to see if the store has a layaway plan, many do now, because they know money is tight. then when you find one and buy it, buy a bunch of ammo and practice, practice and practice some more. buy any decent JHP SD ammo and you should be good to go.

Old 04-26-2012, 09:34 AM   #3

Liked 200 Times on 152 Posts