Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > Semi-Auto Handguns > im new to the gun world

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-01-2012, 02:28 PM   #21
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by historydoc
For your needs I'd look into an all steel service pistol in 9mm or the like. Handle a browning hi power, cz 75b, or beretta 92 if you can. You can shoot those all day. Lots of great 9s out there. In polymer I like the fnp9 or if you are on a tight budget the ruger p95. Comfort is the key. If you like the way glocks feel, get a glock. The cz 75 is my favorite range gun though.
Thank you I'll look into the different options. I'm real open minded

Old 02-01-2012, 02:31 PM   #22

Quote:
Originally Posted by N_Roque
You can't go wrong with a glock or XD. Any and all of them are great for home defense. As for caliber, I would definitely go for a 9mm. There fun to shoot and affordable to take to the range and bust a few boxes. Im glock biased tho so automatically I think "g19" or "g17" but personally one of the fun parts of buying a gun is the research. Hope this helped man

Good luck!
Definitely helped thank you.. I was thinking about going with a 45 for the stopping power but I also have to take in consideration im going to be going to the range a lot and 9mm won't hurt my pockets as much as a 45 would

Old 02-01-2012, 02:33 PM   #23

Quote:
Originally Posted by Josh1158
Thats a big one. I have a 357 mag. I love it, its not huge but big enuff to slap the taste outa someones mouth if I need to and I can shoot 38 special or 357's.

If ya live in michigan you can come shoot mine. I love a good excuse to go though a box of amo.
Next time I go to the range I'll try some revolvers out. I hear you can never go wrong with them. Thank you for the advise

Old 02-01-2012, 02:34 PM   #24

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tackleberry1 View Post