Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > Semi-Auto Handguns > I need help picking an inexpensive first handgun please.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-26-2009, 02:03 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default I need help picking an inexpensive first handgun please.

I am a total newbie when it comes to handguns. I am looking to purchase my first and I want a semi-auto 9mm. I have chose the 9MM due to the lower ammo cost so that I can shoot more and become more familiar with my gun. I am looking at a ruger p95, Taurus millenium pro, or a smith and wesson sigma. I can get the ruger for about $306.00 and the others are in the $370.00 range. Does anyone have a suggestion on these or another semi-auto? I want to target shoot, home defend, possibly carry one day but I wouldn't be opposed to getting a second gun for that in the future. Thanks for the advice!

Jason

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 06-26-2009, 02:25 PM   #2

I would stay away from the S&W Sigma. I had one for two weeks and traded it away due to the extremely long trigger pull. I picked up a Springfield XD instead and have been REALLY happy with it.

I've also got a Ruger P85, which is the older version of the P95 and it's a great gun. I'm replacing the springs in it right now, but otherwise I've been very happy with it.

Final word, I would would stay away from the Sigma.

‘‘Among the many misdeeds of the British rule in India, history will look upon the act of depriving a whole nation of arms, as the blackest.’’
— Mahatma Ghandi, "Gandhi, An Autobiography", page 446

Old 06-26-2009, 02:33 PM   #3