Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   Semi-Auto Handguns (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f15/)
-   -   humidifier and glock (question) (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f15/humidifier-glock-question-88837/)

ajs19ad6 04-15-2013 05:00 AM

humidifier and glock (question)

Hello everyone. I have a question regarding a humidifier and my glock. I currently have a humidifier in my room due to my sinuses drying out and I keep my glock near by in its original case. Will my glock experience humidity damage? Should I put my gun in the closet or underneath the bed? I'm still new to owning a gun and learning everything I need to know about gun care and safety.

Thanks in advance!

JPenn856 04-15-2013 05:17 AM

Glocks are usually pretty good around aquatic conditions, but I wouldn't leave it there for a while without giving it a good oiling. Simple gun oil will help keep moisture away, and a little goes a long way. I would hope you wouldn't leave it in the case for long enough that it would start to be effected.

Kdub 04-15-2013 05:18 AM

You could store it away from it yes, but I would think it would take a long time for it to do any damage. Stash it under the bed.

kiabe1 04-16-2013 09:16 PM

You know those dessicant packets that youll find at the bottom of boxes. If your worried you can put a couple of those in the case with the gun

BeyondTheBox 04-17-2013 08:19 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by kiabe1 (Post 1216029)
You know those dessicant packets that youll find at the bottom of boxes. If your worried you can put a couple of those in the case with the gun

Yup, I use a couple large sized packets of these in my safe.

bigbomar4 04-22-2013 04:23 AM